Some people think it is more important to spend money on roads and motorways than on public transport systems. To what extend do you agree?

There is a tremendously controversial perspective heating up a debate whether investing in roads and highways takes a more crucial role in society than in mass transit. While this statement is valid to some extent, I would contend that the government should fund both of them equally. Without a shadow of a doubt, spending money on roads and motorways can bring a wealth of merits, especially deteriorating the traffic congestion. It cannot be denied that in this fast-paced world, the more population increases, the more gridlock accelerates. Therefore, when splurging money on building more roads, this issue can be alleviated. For example, the Vietnamese government has invested in building more viaducts to solve the traffic jam on Truong Chinh road, which leads to dwellers’ happiness. Hence, money invested in roads and highways has a wide range of benefits. While the positive impacts of investing in roads and motorways are widely acknowledged, it is unfair if that of spending money in public transportation are ignored. Contributing to the preservation of the environment is one of the advantages of doing that. In contrast to automobiles and other private vehicles, some genres of public transport provide less pollutants to the environment. As a result, pouring money in public transport services will lower pollution and enhance air quality. For instance, the Swedish government made investments in the construction of the subway system, which decreased the country's reliance on cars and elevated Sweden to one of the nations with the lowest levels of air pollution in the world. Thus, the authority should fund the public transportation network. In conclusion, to improve people's lives, funding must be allocated to mass transit, as well as to roads and highways equally.