People believe that certain criminals should be made to do community service instead of putting them behind the bars. Up to what extent do you agree?

All of the opinions, but here is the brutal truth, but before we start, this is the way I am looking at this topic. From my perspective, I believe a lot of people, especially the ones who are emotionally sensitive, shouldn’t give their thoughts because this is the dumbest idea I have heard. This topic looks crazy; however, it could work with certain criminals, not all of them, because you don’t know what crime they committed to be in prison and spending a significant period of time there. Moreover, let’s take an example. Obviously, you are not going to let a killer work outside of the jail in public places with the community, as that could cause a lot of risk to the majority of people. In addition to that, many prisoners have mental health problems or may be seeking to run away, which could leave us with another murderer. My take on this is that both the prison management and the government should consider the inmates who have received reduced sentences. They are often those who committed small crimes, usually serving between 5 months to 3 years. Those are the ones who should be taken, not someone who has to spend the rest of his life behind bars. For instance, in some European countries, non-violent offenders are required to clean streets or public parks under strict police supervision, which benefits both society and the prisoner. Furthermore, high standards should be applied to them, like putting a police officer near them and circling the whole place where they have to work, as well as keeping an eye on public walkers for safety reasons. One of them could help the inmate escape; therefore, if they applied those terms and conditions, then yes, I agree that they should be serving time doing community service. In conclusion, community service for low-risk inmates can be a useful alternative, but only if it is managed with strict supervision to ensure public safety. This approach balances rehabilitation with security, which is the most important priority.