• In many countries small shops and town centres are going out of business, because people tend to drive to the large out-of-town stores. This results in an increase in car use, and it also means that people without cars have limited access to out-of-town stores. Do you think advantages of such development outweigh its disadvantages?

It is becoming increasingly normal and standard that majority of people in developed countries start buying goods in big malls located outside of towns and cities, and this only suits the car owners. While this approach is convenient and can save time for those who can afford a car, it does the opposite for poorer social classes. In my opinion, this is a negative tendency that more creates severe problems than provides solutions. Before big malls became a thing and cars stopped being a luxury, in a typical middle-size city it could take the whole day to buy goods for the week, because shops were so dispersed across the cities. It is a very natural development that businesses started buying vacant pieces of land to build there big stores that would have everything available. Today, malls are making the walking distances significantly shorter, thus saving a lot of time. In a single day an average person with a car can now reach a lot more shops than before, also making the market grow overall. However, malls not only bring the benefits. Nowadays the traffic jams and very polluted air, especially around big stores, are a commonality. Not only the buyers need to drive there, but also a lot of workers, such as cashiers, which cannot often afford cars and therefore have to use slow and unreliable public transport. Some stores stay in the city centers, but to stay afloat as businesses, they have to raise prices, making it even more difficult for non-car owners. In conclusion, on one hand, the out-of-town stores and malls are a time saver and overall an useful invention. On the other hand, they only make life easier for people who are well-off, but more difficult for poorer classes instead. I believe that governments should work on making life comfortable for those in need and introduce regulations that would help to find the compromise.