In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Nowadays, students who graduate from high school are allowed to work or travel during a gap year before continuing to university. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of taking a gap year to work or travel the world before college. On the one hand, it is clear that workingwork or travelling in a gap year before studying at university would bring about several advantages. One evident strength is that it would help students expand their understanding of the world around them. In other words, young people can learn much about the traditional cultures unique to other countries as well as make new friends and learn new languages while travelling around the world. This allows them to become more independent, confident and knowledgeable. Another reason is that it would help to find their passion. When they decide to work at this time, they will find the passion for the career they are suitable for. Therefore, they will concentrate on the subjects which relate to their future jobs. Additionally, when they work helps them experience difficulties. they will realize the value of money. Moreover, the amount of money they earn can cover a portion of college tuition. On the other hand, these are some obvious disadvantages that would arise. First, the amount of money for travel is a financial burden to their parents. Making a trip for a long period may affect their financial status if they run out of money which leads to debt. Second, they can be distracted from their studies. When students rejoin college after a long break, it will be difficult for them to concentrate on their studies. As a result, it can affect their academic performance and they may get lower grades. For example, according to a recent survey by The Guardian 30% of students got lower scores after taking a gap year than other students who did not take a year off. In conclusion, there are plus points to work or travel before studying at university that will expand their understanding of the world around them as well as the value of money as they work. However, the downside would emerge consequently in terms of education and finance when they decide to travel or work during a gap year.