Some people believe that schools are no longer necessary, because students can get so much information through the Internet, and study just as well at home. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent times, advanced digital technology provides a lot of knowledge to school-aged children. Hence, few people consider that education-providing institutes can be replaced by modern technology to impart education. I completely oppose the above viewpoint and the following paragraphs further explain my disagreement. Academy holds an important place in a child's life and digital media like the internet cannot overshadow this importance. Firstly, Apart from providing formal education, the school helps a child to learn various acceptable social behaviours too such as, sharing, taking turns, patience.and many more, whereas children will lack this behavioural development if they study at home using the internet. Secondly, school-going children gain discipline by following rules and regulations in a formal setting. Furthermore, these behaviour patterns are carried forward in their life and they tend to grow as responsible adults. Thirdly, an individual going to an institute follows a routine, thus they become habitual in planning their day. Moreover, this habit teaches better time management which is essential in modern times to live a balanced life. In addition to this, students are also encouraged to work as a team while undertaking various school projects. Therefore, one learns skills of cooperation and communication of their ideas. However, a child studying at home using digital technologies will miss the opportunities to work as a team. Last but not the least, schools are irreplaceable by any modern technology as they solve a greater purpose of learning a number of social behaviours, discipline, time management and teamwork which are difficult to learn otherwise. Hence, they are crucial and the internet cannot take their place.