The tendency of news reports in the media to focus more on problems and emergencies rather than on positive developments is harmful to the individuals and the society as a whole. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the recent years there has been a significant shift in the media towards bringing to light horrifying problems rather than emphasizing on positive outcomes and news. Some believe this is damaging to society, however I bet to disagree with this statement, because constant negativity fuels adaptability and brings emotional, financial benefits. Confronting negativity can give a sense of adaptability and safety later, thus it is not harmful, but rather healing for society. If exposed to negativity for prolonged periods of time, then human minds will create coping and defensive. For example, news about an ongoing war that has lasted for years. At first it is terrifying, but after significant period of time military conflict is becoming a background noise. People and the media adjust to war as if it were a part of their daily routine. This instance proves the reason why I believe media focuses more on the negative aspects of life and does not damage its viewers. Global problems and emergencies bring adrenaline and create an illusion that life seems interesting, rather than harmful. It is evident that reports about ongoing terrible events get lots of views on online services. As a consequence, news and media have larger budgets from keeping their subscribers in touch with recent disastrous events, thus fueling the production and need to emphasize on negativity. Example above demonstrates why I think problems are in the center of attention more, than positive developments, and are not damaging, but are rather engaging. Although, constant media events negativity can be seen harmful, however, in my opinion, the society benefits from this exposure far more. Constantly confronting negativity help develop essential coping mechanisms and bring large revenue to news services.