Social Media websites have amassed large user bases, and have become the sole source of information for their users. Do the advantages of being a part of a social media site outweigh the disadvantages?

Thanks to the development of social media and its effects on people's lifestyles, individuals spend more time surfing these websites. While there are several drawbacks of social media, I am of the opinion that these drawbacks will be eclipsed by the benefits, and my reasons will be elucidated in the rest of this essay. The importance and utilization of social media can not be denied these days. People can find their old friends who have never seen them for a long time or probably have lost their contact numbers with the help of these media. Moreover, a lot of experts in many fields have provided their lessons and education throughout these platforms. Not only do individuals not have to commute through their cities for the learning process, but also the cost of commuting and risk of accident or another dangerous event has increasingly reduced. However, alongside the benefits mentioned earlier, the negative aspect of paying more than necessary time for social media brings negative consequences, which lead to social isolation and cultural influence on people's lifestyles, which leads to culture shock. For instance, many women tend to dress the same as some celebrities they follow on Instagram or Twitter, but as far as we know, we cannot dress like foreign people as long as we have under several cultural restrictions. To conclude, although social media have several adverse effects, these platforms make it easy for us to obtain enormous information freely in any field which we have to travel a long distance in the city to learn. So, in my opinion, the advantages of using social media outweigh its disadvantages.