Young people who commit serious crimes, such as robbery or a violent attack should be punished in the same way as adults. To what extent do you agree or disagree

It's argued that youngsters are supposed to be penalized as seriously as adults when they commit terrible crimes, like robbery or violent attack. As for me, I totally agree with this idea. On the one hand,improving the level of penalizing is an effective way to deter youth from doing illegal activities. Because the likelihood of losing freedom can make them think twice before violating laws. Some of them will not risk spending a number of months in the jail so they are likely to obey laws. Furthermore, strict punishment may also have a criminal record which have a negative impact on their career path. For instance, May companies will do background investigations in order to check if the interviewer has criminal acts. And It would be impossible for people who has criminal record to pass. Therefore, considering those consequences, they might choose to control themselves. On the other hand. Some people think youngsters  are not mature enough to aware how seriously the crimes are,so should give them opportunity to Change. However, in fact, they have already been learned it. For example, there are tons of cartoons or TU programmes are related to laws which can teach them what is illegal and obey laws. Moreover, In school, they are also educated what are not supposed to be done as well as what will be resulted. So the age should not be an excuse to escape the harsh punishment. In conclusion, I strongly believe that young people should be treated as same as adults, if they commit serious crimes.