Scientists predict in the near future cars will be driven by computers, not people. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Over the past few decades, because of the innovation of different technologies, substantial changes have happened in human life. Some researchers advocate that in the future automobiles will be functioned with computers without human involvement. From my point of view, I consider it a positive development. Firstly, when the complexities accompanied by driving in tight traffic conditions are carried out by sensors and top-notch processors in the computer, the chances of collision decrease dramatically. To explain further, although human intervention is not necessary for a tech-oriented car, the powerful chipsets and devices present in self-driving cars can tackle tedious circumstances with plausible measures derived from its binary calculations with better accuracy than humans. Moreover, such cars can cruise on the highways without crossing the lanes and traffic rules rather than breaking them like humans. Therefore the probability of road accidents decreases significantly, which is a potential benefit for the community. Furthermore, if cars run by themselves, human effort can be minimised to a greater extent. To make it more clear, even though people have better facilities nowadays compared to the past, they spend long hours on the road, which is a waste of energy and time. By introducing automation in driving, individuals can invest their valuable time and effort in other productive things. For instance, the time saved can be utilised for eating, recreation, and finishing tasks for the day. Moreover, individuals can confidently lend out their cars for other services like taxis and cabs without worrying about cars being lost or any accidents. Hence, people can change the liability of a car to a passive income scheme that not only helps to meet ends but also satisfy their mobility needs. To conclude there are various meritorious aspects involved in technology-driven cars which might have significant benefits like saving lives on the road and helping people to be financially stable as well.