The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the most common means of transport is the car. In great parts of the world, the situation has escalated to the point that the number of vehicles on the road is not sustainable anymore. Therefore, I agree that encouragement and control over this issue should be implemented both at a national and international level. In the next paragraphs I will support this view with a few arguments. People might be unsatisfied with these solutions, because alternative forms of transport can be more expensive than traditional ones. While this may be true, it is a weak argument if we consider State aids. Indeed, often the government incentives these choices by making these options cheaper and more accessible for the citizens. In this sense, I agree that the use of alternative forms of transport should be encouraged. Furthermore, cars require a huge amount of oil, which is a non-renewable source of energy. Consequently, the more cars, the more oil is needed. As a matter of fact, maintaining oil as the principal energy source is not a sustainable option. Moreover, many studies demonstrate the link between the use of non-renewable sources and the worsening of environmental-related issues, such as climate change. Since many people are often not fully aware of the environmental consequences of their actions, the only way to improve the situation regarding the use of cars is to implement public policies to keep this issue under control. Therefore, a solution to these problems can be to encourage the use of alternative forms of transport and to better control the spread of cars by introducing stricter rules. In conclusion, the high volume of cars on the roads is not sustainable anymore and that the major consequences of this issue are burdening the environment in many ways. Bearing this in mind, it is essential that the government encourages alternative forms of transport and that national and international laws are implemented to control this problem.