some people think that it should be compulsory for people to retake their driving test every 5 years. what are the advantages and disadvantages of doing this

A section of society is of the opinion that it must be obligatory for individuals to redo their driving examination every 5 years.The two merits of this trend are to prevent casualties and revenue for the government whereas the demerits are an increased cost and loss of jobs.The essay will explain in detail the merits and demerits of retaking vehicle tests as well as examples in the subsequent paragraphs. To begin with,there are several upsides to retaking vehicle exams. Firstly,checking drivers for their assessment will help reduce accidents.The majority of them are having eye problems and are still driving which causes a lot of accidents on the road.Once the test is reviewed every five years any abnormalities will be detected and the individuals will not be given a license.For instance, the majority of accidents are a result of poor vision according to a survey by Ghana Road Authority. Moreover,it will help generate revenue for the authorities.Some of the monies are used in providing social amenities such as good roads.If individuals are rechecked every five years,more money will be generated which will lead to more building of social amenities like schools and hospitals from which the inhabitants will benefit. Secondly,there are several downsides to redoing driving examinations.High cost because vehicle owners will have to pay money for the new test every 5 years., However in the,past it was paid once. Although authorities will benefit,drivers will suffer. Furthermore, fewer drivers because those who could not pass the exams will not be given licenses. Hence it will lead to unemployment for those who depend on driving for survival. For example,a recent survey by the Ghana Driving License Authority stated that about 70 per cent of employees were unemployed after retaking the driving assessment because they failed to pass it. Therefore,they were not given a licence. In conclusion,the reduction in accidents and rise in revenue are the two merits of redoing driving examination whilst unemployment and increased cost are the two demerits of the trend.