In some countries, children are often told that can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Hard-working is a key factor in achieving goals in everybody's life. It has been observed that delivering children that hard work will bring anything they want has both positive and negative sides and this essay will explain both of these views. On the one hand, advice on doing hard work has some benefits. Firstly, if anyone works hard and continuously pushes themselves to achieve their goals, they might be able to attain them. For example, any student, who studies a lot to get a good result, will obviously acquire this. As a result, they will have a high profile, which will be beneficial in their future career. In addition, a child would have several good characteristics, particularly competitiveness. For instance, if a student gives a myriad of time to their studies, it will have a good impact on their academic performances. As a consequence, when they will apply for their dream jobs, they could compete with their peers. On the other hand, forcing children to do work relentlessly has several drawbacks. One of the major drawbacks is that if anybody could not reach their goals after trying a lot, it will have a negative impact on their mental health. Hence, they could cause depression, stress and commit suicide. For example, in research which had been conducted in Thailand, where most of the students had continuous pressure from their parents for good academic performance, 36% of them committed suicide. Furthermore, if any individual could not attain their goals even after trying a lot, it does not mean he did not do hard work, it may be due to other factors such as luck and skills. In conclusion, from the aforementioned discussion, delivering children that hard-working could accomplish anything, has both advantages and disadvantages. In my opinion, this trend has benefits on young children in terms of their development, while it will bring some mental issues also.