Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reason why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Learning a foreign language is vital for people as the world has integrated as one. Some insist that languages are merely a tool for people to travel or work abroad, while others believe languages benefit more. In this essay, I will give an insight into both concerns and elaborate on my personal opinion. It is indisputable that learning a foreign language allows people to communicate smoothly. When travelling overseas, in particular, to a homogeneous country, language could serve as a major barrier to communication. For instance, in Japan, 85% of its population prefers to use Japanese to talk with others despite they had received various foreign language educations. Thus, learning certain languages can trim the obstacles in the way of conducting a trade or pursuing a degree in such a country. On the other hand, others believe learning a language has a more profound impact on one’s cultivation. Languages are not only tools to communicate but also demonstrations of tradition. Chinese, for example, is well known for its sophisticated customs. Therefore, learning mandarin can serve as a window of opportunity to understand the prolonged history of Chinese. From my perspective, the capability of language goes beyond merely a tool of communication. The number of populations on earth has surged to over 70 billion, with 80% of the people being bilingual. Language can bridge the gap between one and another in numerous domains, embodying trades, politics, etc. Thus, becoming bilingual personnel is an indisputable and irrefutable benefit in modern society. By way of conclusion, I believe the advantages of learning a foreign language outweigh the disadvantages. Human beings should regard bilingual study as a basic ability which will remain pivotal for the years to come.