Countries should produce the food that their population eats, and import as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an idea that says the amount of food which is needed in a country should be produced inside the country as much as possible instead of importing them from other countries. I totally disagree with this idea, not only because of weather conditions in some countries, but also because of limitation of water resources. The weather has an important role in agriculture. So, countries must consider the weather before they plant a crop. The weather in some regions is very cold or very warm during the year. Countries that are located in desert areas are not suitable for planting some crops which need cold weather. For example, Dubai is located in a desert area, so they cannot plant onion or garlic. As well as this, water resources in some countries are limited and they should save it for future generations. It is better for countries like South Africa to reduce their water consumption instead of developing their agricultural industry. Producing all the food which is needed inside a country is not economical. Some countries can produce a crop cheaper than other countries. So it is wise to import those crops. For example, sugar which is produced in Cuba is cheaper than sugar which is produced in Iran. So it is crystal clear that Iran should import sugar from Cuba and produce more crops like saffron and pistachio. In conclusion, I completely disagree with the idea that countries should produce their needs instead of importing them as much as they can. Given this situation, it seems countries should trade and import what they cannot produce and focus on producing crops which they have a competitive advantage.