Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In this day and age, an increasing number of people are concerned about committing crimes which have recently increased at an alarming rate in newspapers. It is thought by some people that all kinds of crimes should have their own punishment; However, others argue that the criminals should be included in the procedure of deciding on the punishment relying on the situation. Hence, we will examine both sides of the argument before reaching a reasonable conclusion. On the one hand, a fixed punishment for each type of crime is necessary due to several reasons. Firstly, it allows every criminal to be treated fairly for every crime. It is important to ensure no one will be discriminated against or offended by the public. In addition, there will not be any unsatisfied between the criminals who committed the same kind of crime when they are arrested in jail. Furthermore, a fixed punishment plays an indispensable role in giving a deterrent in turning the would-be offenders. To illustrate, a serious punishment will be applied to those who commit crimes like murders will definitely deter and cause would-be offenders to change their minds before committing a crime. On the other hand, it is really essential to take into account the reasons why criminals commit crimes. First of all, many of them, especially teenagers, who are more vulnerable to those feelings of loneliness are more influenced by their peers. They do not have mature thinking and are not aware of the possible negative impacts of committing crimes. According to recent research conducted in Viet Nam, the statistic has shown that about 58% of the youngsters got affected by their badly behaved friends when got caught involved in crimes. It is also believed by the public that many criminals lack parental love which eventually causes them to behave violently and aggressively. Therefore, the most obvious solution is by taking the motivation of criminals as an essential consideration in giving punishment. In conclusion, I totally agree that the punishment for a crime should be made up based on all the factors leading up to the unlawful action rather than providing judgment based on the classification of crimes into types.