In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunities to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

In the past, people used to do their higher education in their own country. But nowadays, more and more students prefer spending their academic years abroad. Although there could be no doubt that this trend is beneficial, I hold a belief that it would be still disadvantageous to some extent. To begin with, the idea of studying abroad could exert many positive effects. Firstly, it facilitates the development of highly – valued skills such as intercultural communication, foreign language and others. Indeed, international students have opportunities to interact with different kinds of people, which helps them to enhance their social skills and knowledge of geography. For instance, students studying abroad in the UK would have chances to practice their English skills as well as take advantage of this nation’s fortunate cultural diversity. Secondly, people graduating from universities abroad are exposed to a wide range of career opportunities. To be specific, better communication skills and enlarged professional networks could make foreign students great forerunners to success. In spite of the above – mentioned advantages, I am of the opinion this trend might have several drawbacks. The main issue is financial burdens on international student’s families. In fact, pursuing higher studies abroad is expensive and students may face monetary problems at some point or other. For example, while considering the cost associated with studying abroad, students have to pay attention to tuition fees, accommodation and travelling expenses. In addition, international students may have difficulty in cultural differences. If they are not prepared to cope with these dissimilarities, it may cause an undesirable amount of stress and anxiety adopting to new environment. In conclusion, while there are many advantages regarding career developments and valuable skills such as intercultural communication, I believe the drawbacks resulting from this trend are worth considering as it may cause monetary problems and cultural disturbances.