Eco-tourism often involves visiting remote and fragile ecosystems, which raises concerns about the impact on local cultures and indigenous communities. What problems can this cause? How can these problems be resolved?

In this present day and age, eco-tourism has surfaced as a subject sparking fervent discussion. There has been a controversial school of thought that local cultures and indigenous communities which are negatively affected by eco-tourism which includes visiting remote and fragile ecosystems. In this essay, I would like to shed light on these obstacles and provide a collective solution together in the following paragraphs. Many people consider that eco-tourism is the best way to have less carbon footprint. However, there have risen some problems on the local residents. Firstly, the main detrimental is a privacy for the indigenous communities. For instance, if a lot of tourists come there, it will disturb their peace and tranquillity. Secondly, it is unbelievable that eco-tourism causes pollution and waste of resources due to visitors’ activities such as cutting down trees for their lodges, spending a lot of water unnecessary and overfishing, and some meals being left over. It is seen as a way to set an example of how to impact on local people. Lastly, it is cultural erosion because some tourists make an incentive to the villagers for their preference leading to be affected on integrity and tradition’s belief. To address the negative impact of the above issues, several solutions can be implemented. First of all, training sessions should be provided to the tourist to understand the culture and sensitivity of local people. After that, travellers should have full knowledge of environmental protection also. Last but not least, the government should set a regulation and guidelines for eco-tourism. To conclude, eco-tourism will still be a good way if we handle drawbacks with suitable clarifications to reduce harm to local communities and culture.