School leavers go travelling or work before they go directly to university. Are there more advantages or disadvantage on their study?

Having a gap year is more and more popular among school leavers before they go directly to the university, which I believe that the advantages outweigh its disadvantages. There are some drawbacks of go travelling or working before going to college. Firstly, the youth would find it difficult to cope with some professional issues, since they do not gain enough knowledge from university, which means that without professional training at school, students can not tackle complicated missions at work, even they would lower their work efficiency. Also, travelling costs would increase their parents’ financial burden, since students do not have the ability to get a salary and a stable source of income, therefore their parents need to pay for all sorts of payments. However, more advantages can be seen when students choose to go travelling or work during the gap year before their university life. First of all, students can experience a variety of local cultures first -hand during travelling at home and abroad, from which they can learn local traditions and customs and respect cultural diversity. This would eliminate preconceptions, making them more tolerant and open-minded. Also, students who choose to work in a company would more mature since they learn to cooperate with colleagues and face various people from different social backgrounds. This would improve their communication skills and expand their social backgrounds, which would glamorize their resumes and help them have a competitive edge in the job market. Furthermore, students can unwind themselves from an excess of exams and tests, being given quality time to think about what they want to do in the future and make a plan. For instance, students can take all factors such as interests, money and location into consideration when they decide on their major and their future jobs. All in all, the advantages of taking a gap year to travel and work outweigh its disadvantages since they can experience local culture first -hand, become more mature and unwind from stress.