Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Spending money on transport systems is a duty of governments, but nowadays there are two major transfer systems, railways and roads which both are incredibly important. In my side of view, governments are required to spent money on railways rather than roads. Some people claim that roads are much more important than railways as they are more convenient transportation and cheaper. For instance, roads give this opportunity to passengers to pull over their car and enjoy the landscape whenever they want and for how long they want. Also, road transportation provides much freedom in departuring departure time for passengers as they can start their journey at any time they like. With all these in mind, some people believe that governments should spend money on roads. Having said that, I feel governments should spend money on a transport system which provides a wider range of advantages than only the public's comfort. With spending money on railways the air pollution of exhaust fumes due to cars in roads decreases significantly. Railways not only provide a more comfortable journey for passengers as they can sleep and walk during this time but also, it is visibly more secure than roads. In conclusion, roads are preferable by publicity due to its freedom and customizable timetable, I strongly believe if governments have to choose between spending money on railways or roads, the decision should be the spending money on railways as they are more secure and using them provides less air pollution. As governments are responsible for air quality, people's security and so many other aspects of a decision not only public's comfort.