In many countries, people now wear western clothes such as suits and jeans rather than traditional clothing. Why is this the case? Is this a positive or negative development?

Today there is a controversial problem that whether people should wear modern clothes or keep their traditional costumes. From my point of view, there are some positive and negative impacts on this problem. On the one hand, following modern trends such as wearing western clothes brings a variety of different cultures to a current nation. For example, in most Asian countries, there are a plethora of people, especially teenagers, who wear jeans and suits for special events such as meeting at the workplace or hanging out with friends. This results in developing a new culture as well as providing more options for clothing selection. Generally, being a multicultural country is extremely beneficial in developing the tourism industry and improving the economic field. On the other hand, it is definitely crucial to maintain and develop a country’s unique culture. First and foremost, culture has a meaningful impact on local residents, a country could not develop well without its own culture. For example, in Vietnam, Ao Dai is the traditional cloth and it symbolizes their unique civilization. Even though, a lot of Vietnamese teenagers wear jeans and suits today but they still wear Ao Dai for special events such as the Tet holiday. In addition, the lack of diversity brings several negative impacts such as loss of culture. It obviously is important to follow modern trends and exchange culture,, however young people should maintain and develop their own culture. In conclusion, wearing Western clothes can be advantageous and detrimental. However, people should pay more attention to educate their children about the importance of maintaining and developing their culture by wearing traditional clothes for special occasions.