In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is controversial in some countries that their governments should invest mainly in building new railway lines or redeveloping the current social traffic system. In my opinion, they must spend average money on developing the two parts of public transport since both of them are equally vital for the residents in those nations. To begin with, it seems to me that there are three main reasons that it is necessary to construct new railway lines. Firstly, high-speed trains have played a more and more important road in the modern national economy since their safety is higher than that of aeroplanes. Secondly, very fast trains became the primary vehicle for going too near cities from your home because it is too tired and dangerous to drive a car. Finally, a high-speed railway is also very important for modern national defence. However, those existing traffic lines have different functions from the new high-speed railway. For example, the roads in cities are convenient for citizens to go out. If those roads are very poor of full of obstacles, that will make people feel very uncomfortable when driving or even walking. In addition, those current common railway lines are significant for remote regions before the new railway is built. And in general, constructing a high-speed railway in those areas will spend lots of money and take a very long time. So that we need to repair or improve common railways. In conclusion, new high-speed railway and existing transport have their own advantages in different fields, so we must build or improve them at the same time and with the same intent.