Some people think international car-free days are an effective way of reducing air pollution; however, others think there are other ways. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are numerous factors such as increased deforestation, urbanisation and industrial growth which are responsible for a surge in air pollution. While some people think that reducing the number of days of car usage would decrease the air pollution, others, including me, believe that there are some other ways too such as, afforestation, limiting the trend of migration, using recycled products, which should be considered to tackle the problem. On the one hand, there is a belief that the global air index can be fixed by introducing motorcar-free days. This will reduce the consumption of oil, thereby reducing the amount of heat generated and smoke produced, and the atmospheric temperature. Moreover, there will be less congestion on roads due to cars, thus, helping nature to heal. For instance, the recent global environmental statistics show that European countries like the Netherlands, which followed this practice have witnessed a 25% drop in their pollution levels. So, this method is surely making a difference in lowering the air pollution levels. On the other hand, some people opine that since motor cars are not solely responsible for the elevation in air pollution levels, other measures should also be taken into consideration. Starting with, the government should take the responsibility of educating the masses about how to recycle things in different ways, hence, downsizing the total number of new products being produced. Moreover, planting more and more trees should be practised globally. In some countries, for instance, the UK, the governing officials have implemented laws where heavy fines are to be imposed on people who cut trees unnecessarily. To conclude, I believe that a multidisciplinary approach should be implemented to prevent further depletion of the ozone layer and to make the world an eco-friendly space for future generations.