Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads

Railways and roads are two major transportation methods in a country. The government is always caught in a dilemma regarding the budget allocation for these two sectors. However, it should allocate more for the railway sector because of the points explained in the following section. The most crucial point to be noted is that the trains are more efficient than the roads due to less fuel and energy consumption. Since, the wheels of the trains and the tracks they run on, both are made of iron, the friction that occurs between them is significantly lesser. As a result, trains need less fuel. On the other hand, the roads need routined maintenance because of bitumen segregation with contact with water, which is the main element of road construction. However, railway tracks hardly require any attention with respect to bitumen pavements for the reason of having metallic tracks. Another reason for spending more money on railroads could be the time saved by travelling on a train. Railways are one of the fastest means for moving from one place to another. As an example, Bullet trains can attain a speed of 200 mph which is almost impossible to gain by a road vehicle. Furthermore, notwithstanding the time wasted by railway crossing, there remains no chance of any kind of traffic jams which cost the most of our time when travelling by car or bus. In conclusion, the authority should consider the above-mentioned arguments and put heavy emphasis on spending more cash on the railways if they want to pave the way for the development of their country.