People in many countries are spending less time with their family. What are the reasons, and effects of this?

Nowadays, individuals in many countries are devoting minimal time to their close ones. This is attributed to numerous reasons such as busy work schedules and living at far away distances. Consequently, huge effects on family relationships and deviation from one’s culture are some of the resulting components which will be discussed further in this essay. On the one hand, there are several factors owing to which people in today’s era are unable to dedicate more time to their families. Starting, individuals nowadays are so occupied with their professional commitments that fulfilling their requirements takes away most of their energy, thereby, leaving them burned out. This results in low physical and mental energy which does not allow them to spend time with their family members on daily basis. Furthermore, sometimes in order to get a good education and well-deserving jobs, aspiring adults have to relocate themselves, resulting in an increased living distance from their families. According to a recent study, the international migration rates to the countries like Canada, Australia and New Zealand have augmented by 20% in the last five years. Therefore, engaging in professions and residing at distance are some of the causes behind the masses spending less family time. Consequently, with an increase in distance, there is a decrease in mutual understanding among all the family members. Because of the time difference, people living in different countries are unable to stay in contact with each other on a regular basis. This not only adds up to the distance but also weakens the family bonds. Moreover, when individuals are interacting less with their family members, there are chances of them getting deviated away from their cultural identity and religious beliefs. To exemplify, most Sikh migrants from India, cut their hair after moving to western countries, which is not acceptable in their culture. This is attributed to their lack of communication with their family. In conclusion, tied-up work schedules and increasing distances from closed ones are some of the reasons why adults are not able to invest their time in their families, hence, affecting their personal relations and cultural beliefs.