Due to advances in technology, working from home has become more popular. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of working from home and give your own opinion about it.

Home-based work is more prevalent due to developments in technology. This essay discusses the merits and drawbacks of this phenomenon and explains why I believe that the advantages are greater. There are two main benefits of home-based work. First, working from one’s residence leads to higher productivity. This is because it eliminates the distractions that come with working in an office. For instance, when working from home, I do not get distracted by my co-workers stopping by my desk to ask me unnecessary questions. Furthermore, it saves time. This is due to not wasting time in traffic to go to an office. However, there are also drawbacks to this. The most significant is that it can be difficult to be motivated. This is because no boss is monitoring employees. For example, when working from home I often waste a lot of time surfing the Internet because my boss cannot see me. Another limitation is communication between colleagues is more challenging. This is due to not meeting face-to-face and having to communicate online. This can lead to less effective communication and even misunderstanding of co-workers’ real intentions. In conclusion, I believe there are merits and drawbacks of home-based work. However, overall, I think that the advantages of employees being more productive and avoiding the daily commute to the office outweigh the disadvantages of them sometimes lacking motivation and not being able to meet with their co-workers, in person as easily. Furthermore, I feel that motivation can be enhanced with appropriate scheduling and goal setting.