Some people believe that a good way to reduce crime is to have longer sentences, while others think that there are alternatives to this problem. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In this contemporary era, crime rates have surged dramatically as compared to the past. To bring this alarming situation under control, society members think that leaving criminals in jails for extended terms can plummet the proportion of offenses significantly. However, some argue that the punishment should depend on the seriousness of the crime, to control this growing concern. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the latter and think that considering the situation of the convict and the seriousness of the crime, a sentence should be decided accordingly. Firstly, out of a plethora of suggestions, the most preponderant one is that criminals should be sent on a long sentence to teach them a vital lesson in life. Moreover, when they waste a key time of their life in prison, they start to regret their mistakes and thus learn from their errors. Consequently, they become more disciplined citizens and learn to make better resorts. For instance, a survey showed that 73% of prisoners who spent 10 years or more in jail, never did a crime again. On the other hand, I think not all lawbreakers deserve to be locked behind bars for an indefinite sentence, rather the penalty should be decided after an evaluation of the offense. Besides, it is a fair way of treating a criminal, as they have certain rights too. To illustrate, a trivial offender should be allowed to dedicate some years of his life to serving the community, instead of his whole life in jail. In contrast, a terrorist or a murderer should be sentenced to death, to teach other wrongdoers an increasingly important life lesson. In conclusion, after putting forth all the substantial arguments, I can conclude that although spending most years of life in police custody can make crooks obedient residents, other alternatives like execution and serving society should also be considered to bring the rate of offenses down.