Some people believe that a good way to reduce crime is to have longer sentences, while others think that there are alternatives to this problem. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In this contemporary era, crime rates have surged dramatically as compared to the past. To bring this alarming situation under control, society members think that by leaving criminals in jails for extended terms can plummet the proportion of offences significantly. However, there are those who argue that the punishment should depend on the seriousness of the crime, in order to control this growing concern. In my opinion, I strongly agree with later and think that considering the situation of both the crime and the convict, sentence should be decided accordingly. Firstly, out of a plethora of suggestions, the most preponderant one is that criminals should be sent on a long sentence in order to teach them a vital lesson of life. Moreover, when they waste a key time of their life in the prison, they start to regret about their mistakes, thus learn from their errors. Consequently, they become more disciplined citizens and learn to make better resorts. For instance, a survey showed that 73% of prisoners who spent 10 years or more in jail, never did a crime again. On the other hand, I think not all the lawbreakers deserve to be locked behind bars for an indefinite sentence, rather the penality should be decided after an evaluation of the offence. Besides, it is a fair way of treating a criminal, as they have certain rights too. To illustrate, a trivial offender should be given an opportunity to dedicate some years of his life to serve the community, instead of whole life in the jail. In contrast, a terrorist or a murderer should be sentenced to death, in order to teach other wrongdoers an increasingly important lesson of life. In conclusion, after putting forth all the substantial arguments, I can conclude that although spending most years of life in police custody can make crooks obidient residents, other alternatives like execution and serving the society should also be considered to bring the rate of offences down.