Cars damage the environment and their use is increasing. Why? How can this be controlled

Nowadays the number of car owners is rapidly increasing which has led to severe damage to the environment. The explanations for purchasing cars will be put forward before giving some effective measures to tackle the problem. People desire to own a personal car because of its favourable benefits. Firstly, a private car brings better experiences for its users due to its speed, comfort and novel technologies. The speed of a car is much faster than a public bus so car users can reach their destinations on time,especially in urgent situations. For example, when someone gets sick, his family members can use a car to take him to the nearest hospital. Secondly, most cars are equipped with air conditioning and modern gadgets such as music players and navigation apps, which make them become a second home to some individuals. Due to favourably unique benefits, cars are widely used by people around the world. However, the increasing use of private cars has taken a huge toll on the quality of the environment, exacerbating the air pollution problem in big cities. Fortunately, there are some measures that can be carried out to reduce the use of cars. Firstly, it must be a government priority to raise taxes on cars entering city centres which will effectively discourage drivers, like the congestion charge in London. Another possible solution is that resources should be allocated to upgrade and expand public transport provision and to provide public subsidies for people to have free bus and train passes. In conclusion, there are numerous reasons why more and more people use cars when travelling and the excessive use of cars causes huge damage to the environment. However, some steps can be taken to mitigate the unpleasant circumstance.