Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of the society. Others, however, believe, that school is the place to learn this. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, it is debatable whether school or home is the right place to teach young people to behave well in society. In this essay, both aspects of this contention will be explored while putting forward my own opinions. On the one hand, it is wise to consider that kids should be taught social dealing skills at schools since they spend most of their time there. In other words, they may have a chance to develop their social skills by themselves as they are interacting with different people during school. For instance, since most schools are strict, if a child either does something inappropriate which might be anti-social behavior or disobey the given rules and regulations, he will be given a respective punishment according to his doing. After receiving such punishment, he will give time for a second thought before doing something which acts as a disturbance to the surroundings or which is against the rules. Therefore, schools might be the optimal place for children to learn how to become good citizens. On the other hand, as there are many other things (critical thinking, analytical skill, problem-solving skill, etc.) which are more important and which should be more emphasized than social skills, there is no time to be spared to focusing on good manners although young people’s time was spent mostly at schools. Thus, parents and guardians should teach their kids how to be well-behaved in their leisure time. For example, parents can not only ask them to do community services free of charge but also give speeches about some actual incidents and the merits of becoming good citizens to them. In this way, there will be huge progress made in their social dealing skills. In conclusion, I would argue that parents are the best teachers when it comes to their children’s needs to be well-mannered as they know them inside out. Hence, it would be the guardians' responsibility to train their kids to become a well brought-up adults.