Today the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the reals need of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

There has been a controversy about whether the power of advertising outweighs the values of the products themselves. I agree with this argument, and my reasons will be explained in the following paragraphs. First, they are in line with the tastes of the younger generation. It's expected that young people have evolved into the dominators in the market; their living habits and preferences have changed dramatically. They pursue individualism and uniqueness instead of practicality. Therefore, those companies have perceived this change among clients and have started using the influence of social media to propagate their products. Take Yeezy shoes as an example. Addidas exploits the power of advertising to propagate their goods, and advertise Yeezy equals fashion. Such an action has caught the attention, and has attracted more young people to buy them. However, it has been reported that Yeezy shoes are just exaggerated products. Second, using the power of social media to establish social attributes. It's commonplace that companies work together with other companies to launch some collaboration goods nowadays. They use eye-catching strategies, and new media to form an enterprise novelty and a certain culture. And with the development of this brand, which will eventually form social attributes. Take Supreme as an example. It is a skateboard and clothing brand. This brand uses hilarious marketing content, and good-looking packaging to catch an emotional vibe with its customers. Clients will be stimulated and buy its goods finally because they believe to buy Supreme can let them become trendy. In conclusion, I believe advertising is instrumental in promoting the sales of goods.