You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

There are different views on whether undergraduate students should be versatile and explore other subjects, or dedicate fully to their major and pursue a qualification. I believe that it would be worthwhile for young students to follow their curiosity and take up things that they are interested in. The reasons and benefits for keeping an open mind are as follows. Firstly, there should be no doubt that people in their twenties acquire new skills and understand complicated concepts more quickly. As the age grows, the cognitive level will decline. Secondly, the resources that universities could provide are unique and valuable. For instance, research in science, linguistics and archaeology are strongly affiliated with universities and institutes and it is hard for normal people to access them. Finally but not least, with more skills, one has more options. A diverse range of knowledge would increase the possibility of employment. For example, the combination of skills in information technology and knowledge from a specific area is becoming a necessity when one attempts to achieve something outstanding nowadays. However, it should be acknowledged that focusing on the major is not a negative choice at all. Instead, most people enrol because of their passion and interest in their favourable fields. A qualification is a clear and reachable goal for everyone and without distractions from irrelevant issues, there are more possibilities of becoming an expert in a particular field. Moreover, the basis for pursuing other subjects should be the good behaviour in one's major. In conclusion, it is necessary for a college student to ensure a good performance in their major but universities should encourage and enable students to explore various choices as much as possible.