Some students take one year off between finishing school and going to university, in order to travel or to work. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is observed that some pupils have a period off before attending university. There are both merits and demerits, and I think the benefits would be greater than the drawbacks. On the one hand, taking a time off has many advantages. First of all, having a gap year makes pupils have diverse experiences. Through gap year journey, they can take direct or indirect experiences that have they never had, facing new various cultures and people who are in diverse fields and different people that they have faced. They can not only experience the cultures of other nations but also be taught a foreign language. Secondly, it would be the preparation process for university. Pupils would study additionally the parts necessary to the college processes but they lack. Moreover, if they cannot decide major yet, working in areas about their major is help to decide it and earn money for tuition themselves. On the other hand, there are some disadvantages which is cannot be ignored. Firstly, In terms of study, it is discouragement. The longer period, students rest from studying, is the more likely they are to forget the content they learnt and how to study. If they rest from studying, they cannot understand the content educated in the college. The second demerit is it can be a waste. When students do not spend time efficiently and gain something through it, it can be just a waste. Moreover, if although they go abroad, they cannot adapt there and come back to their nations, a waste of money, which is invested such as airfare and start-up costs, can occur. In conclusion, although students taking a period off after graduating has some drawbacks, it has the bigger benefits enough to offset the risk. Thus I argue taking a gap year should be encouraged.