It must be a woman who stays at home to care for children. Men are not suited to this kind of work. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Gender roles in taking care of children is a topic which is having a lot of discussion these days. I completely disagree with the statement that women need to be stay-at-home moms and that men are not good enough for childcare. This disagreement is because increase in gender equality and changes in family structures. Modern society is moving towards gender equality at homes and workplace where men and women are working equally to earn. With this rise, it is important to not assign certain roles to a particular gender instead work can be divided equally among the family. To illustrate this, in India, 55% of women in metropolitan cities are working alongside men to provide for their families. However, the families of these women are expecting them to take responsibility for their kids after work with little to no support from their spouses. The change in family structures is another big reason for my disagreement. Society is moving towards nuclear families where the kids are not getting any kind of support from their grandparents. Additionally, stay-at-home dads and dual-income households are taking this taboo from the wives in taking care of the children. For example, in recent years the percentage of fathers who are taking the initiative of childcare by staying at home is increasing gradually. Where it is estimated that men in 3 of 10 households are interested in staying at home and raising their kids. It is also worth mentioning that skills for caregiving are not inherently tied to male or female and that many men are capable of nurturing and taking responsibility for their kids. In conclusion, the stereotype that mothers are responsible for nurturing their children and that fathers are not capable is a wrong statement. This is because of the rise in fathers staying at home and dual-income households and the increase in gender equality where wives are expected to earn.