Government should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is undeniable fact that railways are becoming a more popular means of transport than roads. It is argued by many critics that governments should invest more in railways rather than roads. I completely agree with the above notion. This essay will shed light to justify this statement in the upcoming paragraphs. To commence with, the rail network is advantageous for the common man in many ways. Firstly, It is a less expensive form of transportation. Thus, it saves the funds of the general public. For instance, In India, a huge number of people prefer this means to reach their destination because they find it cheaper in comparison to other means. Secondly, It is also a very fast and speedy mode of transport. In other words, it helps to cover long distances in less time. Apart from this, It is also beneficial for the whole economy. Primarily, It encourages domestic travel which in turn boosts the economy of a nation. Passengers prefer to visit far locations present in their own country and spend their money in their native country. For example, cheaper fares attract a large number of passengers to pursue their journey by this means which benefits this industry. Furthermore, It will help the nation in the process of development. To conclude, I would like to reiterate that it offers many benefits to the country as well as its citizens. Hence, I totally agree with the statement mentioned in the question that lawmakers should spend more money on railways than any other means of transportation. It will further help in the development phase of a nation.