Some people say that students who achieve the highest scores in their exams should be rewarded. Others say that those who show progress should be rewarded instead. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It has been seen that rewarding fosters motivation in school-going children. Yet it is not clear that this approach will give more benefits to those who are already academic scorers or to those who work hard and show improvement. I believe that it will be more suited to people who start making progress on a daily basis as this would develop the greed in them to progress even more. Those who argue to reward the toppers have a point. Firstly, honouring the top rankers is a must as the level of effort they make in order to achieve such good scores is a notch level. To give an example, scoring the first position in class requires a lot of persistence and determination towards studies and in order to do so, they have to skip their favourite television series and sometimes sports. Recognising them with a sum of money as a prize would make them proud and could feel that hard work pays off. Although intelligent people get some advantages from remuneration, it clearly benefits the people who show daily effort towards the goal. Studying regularly for class tests not only fosters one to develop daily habits to study but also helps them to improve the final exams and when we start rewarding little accomplishments, they remain motivated and even work harder for more. For example, in India, many school practices recognise the pupils who improved their scores on daily tests. This strategy works very well and exacerbates the students' greed for such gifts and in turn, helps the schoolers to become the best version of themselves. To conclude, rewarding is a powerful tool to motivate both the toppers and students who show effort. I believe this strategy would be more suited to those who tend to become better daily.