As the number of cars increases, more money has to be spent on road systems. Some people think the government should pay for this. Others, however, think that the user should cover the costs. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Over the past few decades, because of the population explosion, the number of car owners has increased dramatically, which also resulted in more money spent on roadways. Some people advocate that the government is responsible for the maintenance of the roads, while others believe that the users should meet the costs. At this point of juncture, both these views are analysed in the ensuing paragraphs, while I reckon the former group is right. Firstly, when people are responsible for the damages to the transport system, they tend to follow the rules and try to preserve the lanes to a greater extent, which may be the prime reason why some individuals believe that the transport medium costs should be shared among public users. To explain further, although the governments impose robust measures to protect the highways, some of the locals might not abide by the rules on the road that protect the tracks. For instance, even though the Indian Ministry have strict laws on modified and track-oriented vehicles, many people take them on the public transit path, which adversely affects the quality. Therefore, if people are aware that they are being charged for every patch they make on the road, they might respect the instructions and obey them. On the other hand, the major reason why some people including me think that government should invest in the protection of transportation routes is that the higher authorities have the sole power and budget to make their citizens follow their laws. To make it more clear, the state can provide funds to different sectors including transport cooperation, that are collected from people in the form of tax. Moreover, in such scenarios, authorities can make updates on the road like cameras and maintenance establishments in complete co-operation. When funds are utilized intelligently in different sectors, it not only attracts the common man but also paves way for international recognition and appreciation. Additionally, by introducing concrete measures in terms of the development of the transport sector, people automatically build better trust in their state policies by witnessing the growth of various fields related to it. To conclude, even though sourcing finance from the public to protect the road system has beneficial factors, it is ideal to let the government cover the expenditure because there are more advantages involved, which are both beneficial to the public as well as the state.