In countries, crime is increasing. What are the main reasons for this? What can be done for this situation?

Over the past ten years or so, not only developing countries but also developed nations have faced increasing crime rates in their domestic societies. Some sociologists believe that this trend happens because of the fast-growing Internet and social media platforms. While some anti- crime experts suggest that the rising crime rates come from the unbalanced social structures and unequal allocation of the wealth between the rich and the poor. This essay will discuss the main reasons why crime is increasing in countries and give some solutions to tackle this tricky situation. On the one hand, it is generally accepted that many countries develop their domestic industries and businesses to let their economic situations become more prosperous and wealthy. That is to say, governments in these countries are focused on boosting their economic growth such as GDP and GNP. However, most of the industries and businesses in these nations are more relying on the Internet networks and functions which gives many cyber criminals great opportunities to do something illegal such as stealing private data and hacking online banks to threaten them to pay a huge amount of money. These cyber crimes have become popular since the mass-scale usage of the Internet. On the other hand, it is also believed that the growing crime rates come from the unbalanced social structures and unequal allocation of the wealth between the rich and the poor. That is, the crime rates may increase if the allocation of wealth in societies is unfair and unbalanced. To be more specific, the poor may be jealous of the fortunes of the rich. At the same time, governments or authorities should work hard in decreasing the fortune gaps between the poor and the rich as possible as they can. Furthermore, they should provide more social welfare and insurance such as national health insurance and more subsidies for the low social and economic class to assist them to live better in their countries. In conclusion, it can be asserted that the crime rates are increasing in countries, but the governments or authorities can use some methods such as social welfare, insurance, and subsidies to prevent and tackle the possible crimes in their countries or nations.