Some people believe that giving longer prison sentences is the best way to reduce crime. Others believe that there are better ways to reduce crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Crime is always one of the most serious problems across the world. Regarding crime treatment, there are opinions that long period of prison is necessary to get rid of illegal actions, whereas others suggest that should be other ways are supposed to be more beneficial. In the following essay, I will give opinions on both views, followed by my point of view supporting the latter idea. To begin with, many people propose that long prison confines should be used as the most effective punishment for criminals as it can fear offenders and prevent people from crimes better. However, no matter how strict the sentence, unless the crime is exposed, it will not show any effect in advance. To cite an example, in some undeveloped regions, because of poverty and low education, also laxity in management, crime has developed significantly that could not easily solve by longer prison time only. On the other hand, to tackle any issues, especially crimes, it is not only punishment but also the causes that should be considered as a pivotal point. The obvious core causes which led to committing crimes could be insufficient lives and lack of education. Therefore, instead of profounding strict sentences, and confining people in prison cells, education and people's basic needs should be more concentrated in order to solve the problems from the root. To sum up, I think that longer confines are one of the choices government can consider and apply to the law, however, it is still unsatisfactory for reducing crime. Instead of that, improving people's lives and the general education system is a better way for the further future.