Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of a particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The environment is faced with a lot of challenges. One of which is the extinction of a type of plant or animal. Some individuals believe that this is the main environmental issue we are facing today and others think there are more pressing environmental challenges. I side with those who argue that the environment faces other vital issues and one of which is air pollution. The loss of a particular plant or specie needs to be addressed with keen interest because this causes an imbalance in the ecosystem. For example, when animals like lions and tigers are in extinction, the animals they feed on like the cats and horses populate the ecosystem because there's no one to feed on them. They then cause harm to the environment Additionally, when plants phase out, the herbivores are harmed because there are limited plants to feed on. However, air pollution is a very serious environmental issue. Overpopulation is a factor in causing air pollution. More and more people are migrating into the cities causing congestion on our streets. Fumes from exhaust pipes and factories as well as dust are making the air we breathe unsafely. Inhaling bad air causes numerous respiratory illnesses like pneumonia and asthma. People spend millions of money treating themselves when they contract such diseases. In conclusion, although the extinction of a plant or animal poses danger to the environment and thus other plants and animals, the harm air pollution has on the environment is very dangerous and must be tackled.