Some people think distance learning programmes can never be as good as traditional, face-to-face education. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

There is a school of thought that believes on-campus learning is better than distance education. I fully support this viewpoint and the following paragraphs explain my agreement. Learning on campus has various advantages. Firstly, students get better opportunities to interact with other students and teachers, this in turn helps in building their social circle. Moreover, these social interactions also provide references for future job searches thus, widening the scope of finding work. For instance, a student might be able to get a reference from a teacher because they have good interaction and the teacher knows the potential of the student. Secondly, an individual who regularly attends university tries to maintain a routine in his life. Hence, such a person is more disciplined as compared to the one who attends lectures from their comfort zone. Thirdly, a person pursuing his studies on campus gets more chances to engage in teamwork. Therefore they enculcate personality traits like cooperation, empathy and assertiveness in the person. Additionally, the experience gained to work as a team is implemented later on when one starts a professional career. Last but not the least, the confidence of a student grows by leaps and bounds because of facing the public in a social setting like classrooms, lecture theatres and group discussions. Whereas, a student studying at home using the internet might not be as confident as the one who is gaining knowledge through physical interaction. To conclude, there are a number of merits to receiving education in a face-to-face setting like, brightening chances of job search, being more disciplined, learning teamwork and gaining confidence. On the other hand, learning through the internet or other distance media lack these qualities.