Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case ? Do you think is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays spending a lot of time on mobile phones each day is been common in childhood as a consequence of the population having easier access to these devices. In my opinion, the use of technology devices could have an overwhelming impact on children ’s minds, thus, this may develop a negative influence on them. So, why I feel this way? The world is connected by the internet and every day is necessary to have a smartphone to do some activities like having meet or even having classes so that children can have easy access to these devices. In addition, a very bad consequence for people is miscommunication between families provoking excessive family conflict. For instance, with family I can see how communication is affected in our daily routine with the use of a smartphone, my son wants to spend many hours per day watching videos and he always loses the capacity to communicate his emotions having an impact on the understood of us like parents. Furthermore, another negative impact is the loss of focus on learning when children keep in touch with a screen for long hours the capacity to learn in some subject begin to decrease and it is difficult for them to have a routine to do homework. For example, in Chile with the current pandemic children could not go to school, as a consequence, at home my son did not have many activities to do so smartphone uses increased and in the return of face-to-face classes he had a delay in some topics for the effect to distraction and the loss of daily routine. In conclusion, every time the use of mobile phones has increased due to various necessities but the problem has been the negative effects on children like the loss of focus on learning and the miscommunication between relatives.