News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported?

In most media houses, the decision of what content is to be broadcasted on TV or printed in daily newspapers lies squarely in the hands of news editors. Criteria and factors such as attention-worthiness, political relevance and sensationalism largely influence these decisions. As it is mostly bad news that fits into these criteria, we tend to get used to bad news because of the frequency of it being broadcast. In my opinion, more good news should be reported, even if it's only for the sake of balance and the psychological effect. Amongst the key mandates of news editors is the mandate to increase the reach of the TV station or the number of buyers of the newspaper. As a result, factors such as political relevance, attention-worthiness, and sensationalism which guarantee an increase in followers of a news platform become metrics that influence the decision of what makes it to the news. This is seen in the disparity in follower numbers of platforms that report more politically relevant news versus those who report on general news, with the former having four times more followers than the latter on average. For example, in 2019 CNN had an average of 200,000 daily watchers while KNBC had 45,000 daily watchers. News considered as bad news mostly fit into the previously listed influencing metrics for news selection and as such tend to feature more often than good news. Naturally, we become used to things that we encounter more frequently, in this case, bad news. A study carried out by Harvard University’s psychology department which tracked news content across 10 news stations over the course of one year showed that bad news occurred in a 20 to 1 ratio to good news. This high frequency of bad news has made humans become used to and anticipate bad news. According to psychologists, good news tends to have great psychological effects on listeners and readers compared to bad news. It is for this reason as well as for the sake of balance that I believe that the more good news is reported, the better it is for our society. News editors should be encouraged to seek out and report more good news for its psychological effects on our society. In conclusion, factors such as attention-worthiness, political relevance and sensationalism are key influences on the decision of what makes it to print and TV. With bad news fitting these factors more than good news, its frequency outnumbers that of good news and as a result, we get used to bad news. However, for its psychological effects and for balance, it would benefit society if more good news is reported.