Crime is a serious and growing problem in most societies. Although many people believe that the best way to tackle this is to place people in prison for longer periods, others are of the opinion that other measures will be more effective.

Crime is a serious problem rising in today's world. To tackle it, a large number of people think that criminal should place in jail for a longer time for their offences, while others believe that other methods will be more effective to decrease the crime rate. This essay will look at both views and explain why I think that shorter prisons with psychological treatment will better method for criminals to not crimes again. On the one hand, there are many reasons why people think that offenders should send to prison. First and foremost, in prison due to corporal punishment by prisoners criminals, they fear committing crimes again. Also, people feel relief to send criminal to lock up, this is because the community live a good life without worries about crimes. Furthermore, during spending longer time in prison offenders realise their mistake to spend their half of life in jail. But due to spending longer in lockup and for corporal punishment they do not survive in the community and have no energy to work in society in their old age. On the other hand, in my opinion, a better way to curb crime is by providing psychological treatment to offenders during their short-term time. To illustrate this, giving psychological treatment to their offence will be beneficial for them to realise their past mistakes. For example, countries like Netherland adapt these methods to apply to their criminal and also announce offender's prison term time will be no more than six years but must get psychological treatment during their period in jail, and as a result, from the last few year's records can be seen that the crime rate in Netherland is decreasing dramatically. In conclusion, in my opinion, providing short prison along with mental treatment help individuals to not crime again and also they can realise their past crimes only by this we can decrease the crime rate in this world.