Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Some specialists think that learning a second language at primary school is preferable to learning it at secondary school. In my opinion, the benefits of this method do not outweigh its drawbacks. Among the arguments of this scheme, the first is that of children's flexibility at a younger age. It has been observed that children are more open to learning a new skill at a younger age rather than later on in their lives. Therefore, if they had started learning a new skill, such as a new language, at the initial stages of their education, they would adapt to it quicker, resulting in them being more successful in learning it. So it seems appropriate to start teaching kids a second tongue while they still have the flexibility to understand it more effortlessly. However, not all children want to be experts in a second language, nor do they have the talents, so teaching them a foreign language at such early age might result in them getting confused and overwhelmed, and it might make them feel imbecile. These children are most likely to abandon the language that they were taught. Yet, they could have continued learning it if they had started it more ready. In these children's cases, in addition to wasting effort and expense, the children's mental health might get affected, causing them to lack the motivation to start any hobby due to fear of failure. In conclusion, although teaching children a foreign language at primary school has advantages for a group of students, a huge of them get affected by it negatively. So I think it is fair to say that the benefits of teaching kids a second language at primary school rather than at secondary school do not outweigh its drawbacks.