After completing High School and before going to college or university, some students take a year of either for work or travel. What do you think is better traveling or working? Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of both approaches.

Taking a year gap after finishing schooling is commonly seen in many societies. During this time, some would like to travel, while others like to work. This essay will discuss both the advantages and the disadvantages of travelling and working, and explain why I believe working is better. In terms of travelling, there are two main benefits, The most prominent one is that the students can take a break from their studies and enjoy their life. Indeed, studying is very stressful, especially nowadays as the school curriculum has increased drastically. Another merit of leisure- trips is that students can gain more knowledge from the experiences they had while travelling. Having travelled overseas, they would learn about different cultures, traditions, and lifestyles, which would make them a better individual in the future. In the case of working, the main merit is that youngsters would gain practical experience. By working as a trainee in a car workshop, they would learn the basics of engineering, even though they are not technically qualified. These students, likewise, would learn to live an independent life. They would not only learn money management, but would also stop depending on their parents for silly things. The demerits cannot be overlooked, even though the advantages of having a year break are far more. A huge amount of capital is required in order to facilitate a year-long trip. About working, many teenagers would discontinue their further studies, once they started earning, thus the students are losing the opportunity to gain an education. In conclusion, a break from studies after completing high school for a job or travel can benefit the students positively by acquiring many life skills, even though it is expensive, and some might not resume their studies. Personally, I believe that it is important to take a break from studies and gain practical knowledge.