Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Living in one nation where you have to speak a foreign language can cause some serious social and practical problems. I agree with this statement and I will explain it in detail in the following paragraphs. To begin with, since you live in a new place, you have to acknowledge its local language in order to be able to interact with other people; in other words, the inability to communicate will lead to a lack of friendship and loneliness. For example, while attending public gatherings, they may face many difficulties with socialising with other people and are less likely to experience joyful moments because they could not completely understand what others were talking about and failed to participate in their discussion. Therefore, they usually do not develop good relationships with local citizens and prefer to stay in their own community. In addition, the language barrier can negatively affect one's daily activities in that country. For instance, some people may find it difficult to do grocery shopping at the local market and struggle to find what they need. Furthermore, they may have to deal with a lot of problems at their workplace; talking effectively and knowing how to express your knowledge and ideas is certainly one major factor in many businesses and lacking in it can lead to job failure despite your abilities. Hence, foreigners can be under a lot more pressure than citizens and find it harder to manage life in that country. To conclude, it is true that social and practical issues could arise when immigrating to another country, however, there exists a wide range of methods that can tackle the existing difficulties.