New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

Nowadays, the invention of the latest technology has a tremendous impact on children in terms of how spend on leisure activities. This is a controversial topic because it has two contrasting consequences. I believe that the drawbacks of technology excel its benefits. On the one hand, the advantages of gadgets for children are fewer. Actually, one of the main advantages of technology is that it enables children to access a virtual world that is entertaining for children there being variety of games and videos, so some of the plays contain logical improvements which will trigger children to increase their IQ level. One explanation for this, chess is a widely known type of sport which gives an opportunity to enhance children's cognitive skills, including decision-making and problem-solving. Secondly, due to a computer being an unlimited source of information, children will have a chance to acquire details about any subject. Eventually, this will affects their literacy rate. On the other hand, the disadvantages of technology are far greater. To commence with, in terms of interaction, portable devices like cellphone and laptops facilitate children's activities, so instead of talking face to face or spending time together, they have a proclivity to chat by means of some social platforms such as WhatsApp and Instagram, by doing this they convict themselves to stay at home. As a consequence, as well as causing mental illnesses, it will also create physical problems. To exemplify this, being obsessed with technology results sedentary lifestyle. Likewise, it leads to spoil meal times and to put weight. Consequently, being addicted to tech undermines the immune system. Furthermore, while children use technology, they can encounter movies and advertisements that are unsuitable for their age, so these kinds of materials influence negatively their morality. To conclude, although there are only a few benefits of technology to children, I believe that the disadvantages surpass its advantages therefore children should be kept under control by their parents.