People should look after their health for personal benefits, rather than a duty for a society. What extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been argued that people today should care for their own personal health purely to enjoy the personal benefits that are gained from having good health, rather than as a duty to others in their society. Personally I believe that people should take good care of their health not only to reap the associated benefits, but also as a way of helping to uplift the lives of the citizens within their own cities and countries. Many people claim that the secret to a happy life is through achieving and maintaining good health, and I also stand by this notion. When someone experiences good physical and mental health they are able to enjoy their life to the fullest. Good health allows people to pursue their hopes and dreams and enjoy human relationships with family and friends. Without good mental and physical health, these ideals are difficult to attain. In addition to this, today, people are suffering from mental and physical sickness and diseases more so than ever before. This, in turn, causes a heavy load on a country’s healthcare industry and causes large financial burdens to the country’s national budget, which comes at the cost of the tax paying citizens. If people were to look after their health better, it would reduce such financial burdens and the money could then be spent on other services that would benefit the quality of life for the society as a whole. In conclusion, I firmly believe that all people should strive to achieve and maintain the highest levels of health possible not only so that they can be happy and enjoy their own life, but also so that they can contribute towards a more happy and healthy society around them.