All over the world, societies are facing a growing problem with obesity. This problem affects both adults and children. What are the reasons and what can be done?

These days, there is an alarming rate of people gaining extra weight around the globe. The drawbacks of this trend to children and adults are by no means negligible. The root cause of this inclination can be traced to the popularity of fast foods and the modern lifestyle. To curb this issue, some influential courses of action should be applied by both authorities and people. Two main reasons can be attributed to why both adults and children are growing overweight in many societies. First and foremost, people cannot resist the urge not to consume fast foods as they are a mouthful, convenient, and compatible with their current hectic lifestyles. This is mainly because, such foods are quickly prepared which saves people a lot of time. However, excessive consumption of these unhealthy foods leads to gaining extra weight as they are rich in fat. Secondly, in the modern world with the emergence of state-of-the-art public transportations such as buses, trains, planes, and so forth, the physical activity of people has declined dramatically. To be more specific, most adults often drive to work and children commute to school by bus. In this case, fewer calories are burnt. Several preventative measures should be implemented to combat the rising rate of obesity among adults and children. To begin with, authorities should raise public awareness about the negative repercussions of overconsumption of fast foods through popular social platforms, like Instagram, and Telegram. Since many access these means of communication, the news would spread quickly. If people knew that they soar the possibility of stroke, obesity and high blood pressure by eating fast foods they would not eat them in advance or they would reduce their consumption. Furthermore, adults and children should use bicycles for commuting as this means of transportation helps them to burn more calories as well as keeps them fit. In conclusion, a sedentary lifestyle and overconsumption of fast food are the major reasons for the growing number of obese people around the world. However, these problems can be dealt with if people increase their daily physical activity and are informed of the dangers of eating too much junk food.