Modern technology has made it easier for individuals to download copyrighted music and books from the internet for no charge.To what extent is this a positive or negative development?

In this digital era, it has become easy to download music and books, protected by copyright, for free from the Internet. I believe this development is a negative one for several reasons. One possible drawback of this tendency is that authors do not benefit financially. In other words, when internet piracy becomes widespread, public would not buy the products of authors due to the possibility of getting them free of charge. This, in turn, demotivates the artists and novelists for example, from pursuing their career further. For example, for the last decade, the overall amount of money collected by official sales of movies and music has declined due to excessive cases of copyright infringement. On top of this, this tendency is a huge disrespect to authorship and efforts that people put into their work. The originality of products require a great deal of work, insomniac nights, psychological pressure. These cannot be fulfilled only by financial resources, but only by showing emotional respect and solidarity. Thus, I think, this trend of free download of materials has become nothing but a huge disrespect. In addition to this, this is a huge crime which is not welcomed by most European countries, as the internet piracy is a violation of not only officially acknowledged legislative laws, but also a violation of intellectual property, which is considered to be far more important than the materialistic property. In conclusion, the possibility of copyrighted materials to be downloaded for free is a huge negative due to financial crack of authors and emotional damage they get.